Bearnaise Sauce

I’m a bit of a creature of habit when it comes to my sauce choice when having steak; usually either a peppercorn sauce or a red wine sauce, so decided to branch out and try this..

image

image

I had made up some tarragon vinegar by putting some tarragon leaves in a bottle with some vinegar and leaving to infuse. I think the idea is to remove the tarragon at some point but I left it in and did end up pretty strong!

I put the vinegar, shallot and tarragon into a saucepan and let reduce..

image

That was then mixed with an egg yolk and put over a pan of boiling water..

image

image

It rally doesn’t take long to start thickening..

image

Then I whisked in the butter and some seasoning and it certainly does have a piquant flavour and it is pretty thick!

image

Obviously we had to have this with some steak and chips..

image

Well I have to say this is a fantastic sauce! It’s packed with flavour and maybe not for anyone that doesn’t like tarragon! Maybe my sauce is extra strong due to my over infused tarragon vinegar, but I like it that way!

Would I make this again? Yes definitely!

image

Leave a comment